History of Saint Agnes School

"In the fall of 1913, Father Cletus Brady, C.P., purchased an abandoned school...for a trifle over $100....the deal included 48 desks, two stove furnaces and an old school bell."  These are the opening lines of a book published by Margi Johnstone, long time Saint Agnes librarian, now retired, in celebration of the Centennial of Saint Agnes School. 

Saint Agnes Parish opened the school in January of 1914 with twenty-seven pupils under the direction of the Sisters of Charity of Nazareth.  Within one week of opening the school, enrollment grew to thirty-two students and by the end of that first school year in 1914, Saint Agnes Catholic School had fifty students!  Two sisters taught that first group, Sister Generose Bryan who acted as principal and teacher, and Sister Francis Gabriel Clark.  The SCNs were a significant presence at Saint Agnes Catholic School, with the final SCN principal retiring from her post in 1990.  The last SCN to serve as a full-time teacher, Sister Ruth Ann Humphrey, retired from her classroom in 2002, but still faithfully volunteers in the school helping young students learn to read.     

Some of our families now have a third generation of students attending the school.  Saint Agnes School also welcomes many new families to the parish and school as well.  Today, Saint Agnes School is supported by a vibrant and strong parish faith community and continues the tradition of academic excellence established by the sisters.  Our highly credentialed faculty and staff of over forty-five members support a student body of over 450 students, preparing them for rigorous high school programs.  The school continues the mission of the sisters by forming students to be good stewards and to lead faith-based, mindful lives.  To schedule a visit to see why we are a great Louisville area Catholic School and Highlands' area landmark, contact the Saint Agnes Catholic School office at 502-458-2850.